SHIJIR KHISHIG

ASSOCIATION DE SHIJIR KHISHIG

HISTOIRE D’UNE ORGANISATION COMMERCIALISANT DE L’OR ET DE L’ARGENT ÉCOLOGIQUE FAIRMINED

« Les bijoux créés à partir de l’or que nous avons extrait de manière équitable seront un cadeau inestimable pour vos proches ».

UNE ORGANISATION MINIÈRE ENTOURÉE PAR LA NATURE ET EN PHASE AVEC SA COMMUNAUTÉ

13 familles comptant 50 membres font partie du partenariat. Les femmes membres sont impliquées dans toutes les activités et l’organisation s’efforce d’aider les familles voisines. L’organisation met 5 maisons à disposition de personnes sans abri. Ils contribuent aussi à replanter des arbre et financent des activités pour l’ensemble de la communauté : les mineurs jouent notamment au basketball, au volley et au ping-pong et l’organisation organise un pique-nique chaque été.

« Le standard Fairmined est l’une des altermatives les plus importantes pour notre organisation, car il permet d’augmenter nos revenus et d’accroître nos opérations. »

AMÉLIORER L’EXTRACTION ARTISANALE ET PETITE ÉCHELLE EN MONGOLIE: DES VALEURS ÉQUITABLES

La mission de Shijir Khishig est « de protéger les intérêts communs de ses membres, de créer des emplois et des revenus durables, et de promouvoir la responsabilité environnementale et sociale des mineurs artisanaux et des entrepreneurs, afin d’améliorer leur qualité de vie ».
Ces mineurs rêvent de développer une activité minière artisanale basée sur la communauté en « créant une répartition équitable des revenus et en augmentant les revenus de ses membres, en fournissant des informations en temps réel et en mettant en œuvre des programmes environnementaux et sociaux basés sur la communauté ».

Shijir Khishig se met l’accent sur la formation et la participation : l’organisation inscrit ses membres à différents types de formations afin d’améliorer leurs connaissances et leur éducation. En 2018, par exemple, un mineur s’est rendu en Autriche afin de prendre un cours pour devenir orfèvre.

Le processus d’obtention de la certification Fairmined, la documentation et les permis de l’organisation sont mieux organisés grâce au soutien de l’organisation SAM. Shijir Khishig a veillé à ce que « tous les membres connaissent les exigences standard ».
Le mercure étant interdit par la loi mongole, Shijir Khishig utilise des tables gravimétriques pour le traitement de l’or. Cela leur a permis d’obtenir la certification écologique Fairmined.
Grâce à la commercialisation de l’or Fairmined écologique, les mineurs de Shijir Khishig sont en mesure d’investir dans le développement de leur communauté: L’investissement dans la prime Fairmined « fera l’objet d’un débat au sein du comité Premium et sera principalement utilisé pour les équipements de sécurité et la formation, l’aide sociale, comme l’aide et l’emploi pour les communautés rurales les plus pauvres.  »

AMÉLIORER L’EXTRACTION ARTISANALE ET PETITE ÉCHELLE EN MONGOLIE: DES VALEURS ÉQUITABLES

ENSEMBLE SUR LE CHEMIN DES MINES RESPONSABLES

Avant la création de l’association de Shijir Khishig, certains mineurs travaillaient seuls. Après la formalisation de l’association et l’approbation du règlement n °308 par le gouvernement mongol en 2010, certains mineurs ont commencé à travailler ensemble et ont établi l’association en 2016. Shijir Khishig est une organisation à adhésion volontaire et les mineurs ont déterminé leurs conditions de travail.

DONNEES GENERALES

Nombre de travailleurs: 9 hommes et 3 femmes

Type d’exploitation minière: Extraction de roches dures

Lieu: Province de Selenge, Mongolie

Certification Fairmined: décembre 2018.

SHIJIR KHISHIG

SHIJIR KHISHIG PARTNERSHIP

The story of a Mongolian organization that will trade Fairmined Ecological Gold and Silver

“The jewelry made of the gold mined by our fair labor will be a priceless gift for your loved ones.”

A MINING ORGANIZATION SURROUNDED BY NATURE AND ITS COMMUNITY

Shijir Khishig is based in Selenge Province in northern Mongolia, in a district on the mountain. Herder families reside around and the site.  It is also surrounded by a forest and a small river flows around 1 km from the mine. The population comprises 2 different nationalities and 20 ethnic groups.

13 families with 50 members make part of the partnership. Women members are equally involved in all activities and the organization strives to assist their neighborhood families. The partnership provides 5 homes for homeless people and also set up a clean-up fence for herders in snow-dams. Furthermore it plants trees in the district, among implementing other beneficial activities for the whole community. Miners play basket, volleyball and table tennis and the organization arranges a picnic once in summer time.

“The Fairmined Standard is one of the most important solutions for our partnership as a way of increasing income and improve our operations.”

IMPROVING ARTISANAL AND SMALL-SCALE MINING IN MONGOLIA: FAIRMINED VALUES

Shijir Khishig’s mission is “to protect the common interests of its members, to provide sustainable employment and income and promote environmental and social responsibility with artisanal miners and entrepreneurs, to improve their quality of life”.

“Thanks to the SAM [1] project we have fewer challenges, but we might have challenges further especially to prepare documents and reports in Mongolian and in English. (…) Through SAM project, the Alliance for Responsible Mining provided us guidance and clarifications on the issues we didn’t understand.”

They dream of developing a community-based artisanal mining by “creating a fair income distribution and increasing the income for its members, delivering real-time information, and implementing community-based environmental and social programs”.

Shijir Khishig focus on training and participation by enrolling its miners in different types of trainings to improve their knowledge and education. For example, in 2018 one member was trained in rehabilitation and another one traveled to Austria to participate in a Goldsmith Training course to became a goldsmith.

the process of obtaining Fairmined Certification, the organization’s documentation and permits got more organized. Shijir Khishig’s made sure “all members learned the standard requirements” and they highlight that “it has become possible in the local community to

Mercury is prohibited by law in Mongolia so Shijir Khishig uses gravimetric tables for the processing of gold. This enables them to obtain the Fairmined Ecological Certification.

Now that they can commercialize Fairmined Ecological Gold they will be able to invest in their community development: The Fairmined Premium investment “will be discussed at the Premium Committee and will be used primarily for safety equipment, PPE and training, as well as efficient use of social assistance, such as assistance and employment for the poorest rural communities.”

[1] http://sam.mn/sustainable-artisanal-mining-project/

TOGETHER ON THE PATH TOWARDS RESPONSIBLE MINING

Before the establishment of the Shijir Khishig Partnership organization, some of the miners were operating on themselves. After ASM formalization and approval of ASM regulation no.308 by the Government of Mongolia in 2010, some miners started working together and established the Khishig Partnership in 2016. Shijir Khishig has a voluntary membership organization and the miners decided to join for the purpose of improving their employment and livelihood conditions.

QUICK FACTS

Number of workers: 9 men and 3 women

Type of Mining: Hard rock mining

Location: Selenge province, Mongolia

Fairmined Certification: December 2018.